Texas Drug Statutes

Texas Health and Safety Code: Title 6 Food, Drugs, Alcohol, and Hazardous Substances

PENALTY GROUP

OFFENSES/PENALTIES

ENHANCEMENTS/BENEFIT
RESTRICTIONS

481.102 Penalty Group 1

(1) Opiates

(2) Opium derivatives: e.g.,
codeine compounds, morphine
compounds, heroin

(3)(A) other opium and opiates
not listed elsewhere; (B)
chemical equivalents of opium;
(C) opium poppy and poppy
straws; (D) cocaine; (E) poppy
straw concentrate

(4) other opiates not listed in
(D or (2)

(5) flunitrazepam (Rohypnol)
(6) Methamphetamine

(7) phenylacetone &
methylamine together w/ into
to manufacture meth

(8) PCP; (9) GHB; (10)
Ketamine

481.112 Manufacture or
Delivery of Penalty 1
Substance

481.140 Use of Child in
Commission of Crime:
punishment increased 1
degree. If force used, degree
felony

(b) <1g: state jail felony;

180days-2yrs; <$10,000

481.1122 Manufacture in
presence of child

(1) punishment increased by 1
degree

(c) 1-4g: degree felony:
life or 5-99yrs; <$10,000

481.1122 Manufacture in
presence of child

(1) punishment increased by 1
degree

(d) 4-200g: degree felony:
life or 5-99yrs; <$10,000

(e) 200-400g:
life or 10-99yrs; <$100,000

481.1122 In Presence of child
(2) 15yr min; <$150,000

(f) >400g;
life or 15-99yrs; <$250,000

481.1122 In Presence of child
(3) 20yrs min; <$300,000

481.115 Possession of
Penalty 1 Substance

(b) <1g; state jail felony:
180days-2yrs; <$10,000

(c) 1-4g; degree felony:
2-10yrs; <$10,000

(d) 4-200g: degree felony:
2-20yrs; <$10,000

(e) 200-400g: degree felony:
life or 5-99yrs; <$10,000

(f) >400g;
life or 10-99yrs; <$100,000

481.1021 Penalty Group 1A
LSD

481.1121 Manufacture or
Delivery of Penalty 1A
Substance

(b)(1) <20 units (u): state jail
felony: 180days-2yrs;<$10,000

(b)(2) 20-80u: degree felony:
2-20yrs; <$10,000

(b)(3) 80-4,000u: degree
felony: life or 5-99yrs;
<$10,000

(b)(4) >4,000u:

481.140 Use of Child in
Commission of Crime:
punishment increased 1
degree. If force used, degree
felony
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life or 15-99yrs; <$250,000

481.1151 Possession of
Penalty IA substance

(1) <20u: state jail felony:
180days-2yrs;<$10,000

(2) 20-80u: degree felony: 2-
10yrs; <$10,000

(3) 80-4,000u: degree felony:
2-20yrs; <$10,000

(4) 4,000-8,000u: degree
felony: life or 5-99yrs;
<$10,000

(5) >8,000u:
life or 15-99yrs; <$250,000

481.103 Penalty Group 2
(1) Hallucinogenic
substances: e.g.,, DMT,
synthetic THC, MDMA, BZP,
psilocybin, mescaline

(2) Phenylacetone

(3) depressant/stimulant
compounds not listed
elsewhere: e.g.,, amphetamine,
Vyvanse, Qualuude

(4) Compounds derived from
2-aminopropanal: e.g., MDPV,
mephedrone

481.113 Manufacture or
Deliver of Penalty 2 or 2a
substance

(b) <1g: state jail felony:
180days-2yrs;<$10,000

(c) 1-4g: degree felony: 2-
20yrs; <$10,000

(d) 4-400g: degree felony: life
or 5-99yrs; <$10,000

(e) >400g:
life or 10-99yrs; <$100,000

481.140 Use of Child in
Commission of Crime:
punishment increased 1
degree. If force used, degree
felony

481.116 Possession of
Penalty 2 substance

(b) <1g: state jail felony:
180days-2yrs;<$10,000

(c) 1-4g: degree felony: 2-
10yrs; <$10,000

(d) 4-400g: degree felony: 2-
20yrs; <$10,000

(e) >400g: life or 5-99yrs;
<$50,000

481.1031 Penalty Group 2A
Synthetic chemical compounds
mimicking the
pharmacological effect of
naturally occurring
cannabinoids

481.1161 Possession of
Penalty 2A substance

(b)(1) <2o0z: Class B
misdemeanor: <$2,000 and/or
<180days

(b)(2) 2-40z: Class A
misdemeanor: <$4,000 and/or
<lyr

(b)(3) 40z-5lbs: state jail
felony: 180days-2yrs;<$10,000
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(b)(4) 5-50Ibs: 3rd degree
felony: 2-10yrs; <$10,000

(b)(5) 50-2,0001bs: 2nd
degree felony: 2-20yrs;
<$10,000

(b)(6) >2,000Ibs: life or 5-
99yrs; <$50,000

481.104 Penalty Group 3
(1) compounds containing
stimulants: e.g., Ritalin and
Preludin

(2) compounds containing
depressants: e.g., Xanax,
Ativan, Klonopin

(3) Nalorphine

(4) compounds containing
limited quantities of narcotics:
e.g., codeine, morphine,
difenoxin

(5) compounds containing
other substances: e.g.,
barbiturates, chloral hydrates
(6) peyote

(7) compounds containing
stimulants not listed
elsewhere: e.g., appetite
suppressants

(8) Dextropropoxyphene
(9) anabolic steroids not
exempted

481.114 Manufacture or
Delivery of Penalty 3 or 4
substance

(b) <28g: state jail felony:
180days-2yrs;<$10,000

(c) 28-200g: degree felony: 2-
20yrs; <$10,000

(d) 200-400g: degree felony:
life or 5-99yrs; <$10,000

(e) >400g:
life or 10-99yrs; <$100,000

481.117 Possession of
Penalty 3 substance

(b) <28g: Class A
misdemeanor

(c) 28-200g: degree felony

(d) 200-400g: degree felony

(e) >400g: life or 5-99yrs;
<$50,000

481.140 Use of Child in
Commission of Crime:
punishment increased 1
degree. If force used, degree
felony

481.105 Penalty Group 4

(1) compounds containing
limited quantities of narcotics
that include nonnarcotic active
medicinal ingredients: e.g.,
codeine, morphine, difenoxin
(2) compounds containing
Buprenorphine or Butorphanol
(3) compounds containing
pyrovalerone

481.118 Possession of
Penalty 4 substance

(b) <28g: Class B misdemeanor

(c) 28-200g: degree felony

(d) 200-400g: degree felony

(e) >400g: life or 5-99yrs;
<$50,000

481.106 Controlled
Substance Analogue to
Penalty Groups 1,1A & 2

481.123 Affirmative defense
If analogue was not intended
for human consumption; if
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(1) substantially similar
chemical structure of a
controlled substance; or

(2) specifically designed to
produce substantially similar
effect to controlled substance
listed in the penalty group

there is approved new drug
application; or if it was
exempted for investigational
use

Miscellaneous Substances

Penalties

Enhancements/
Benefit Restrictions

481.119(A) Manufacture or
delivery of scheduled
substance not listed in
Penalty Groups

Class A misdemeanor

481.119(b) Possession of
scheduled substance not
listed in Penalty Groups

Class B misdemeanor

482.002 Unlawful delivery or
manufacture w/ intent to
deliver simulated controlled
substance represented as a
controlled substance

State jail felony

Marihuana

Penalties

Enhancements/
Benefit Restrictions

481.120 Delivery of
Marihuana

(1) <% o0z & no remuneration
Class B misdemeanor

(2) < % oz & remuneration
Class A misdemeanor

(3) % oz-5lbs
state jail felony

(4) 5-501bs: degree felony

(5) 50-2,0001lbs: degree felon

(6) >2,0001bs: life or 10-99yrs;
<$100,000

481.140 Use of Child in
Commission of Crime:
punishment increased 1
degree. If force used, degree
felony

481.121 Possession of
Marihuana

(1) <20z: Class B misdemeanor

(2) 2-40z: Class A
misdemeanor

(3) 40z-5lbs: state jail felony

(4) 5-501bs: degree felony

(5) 50-2,0001lbs: degree felony

(6) >2,0001bs: life or 5-99yrs;
<$50,000

Enhancement Offenses

Penalties

481.122 Delivery of Penalty 1, 1A, 2, 3 or

marijuana to a child

degree felony;

481.140 Use of Child in Commission of Crime:
punishment increased 1 degree. If force used,
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degree felony

481.134 Delivery of controlled substance in,
on, or w/in 1,000ft of a “drug-free zone”

Either a felony 1 degree higher or an additional
5 years and doubled fine depending on the
original punishment as defined by statute

481.141 Manufacture or Delivery of
Controlled Substance Causing death or
serious bodily injury

Punishment is increased by 1 degree

OTHER OFFENSES

Offenses

Penalties/Enhancements/
Benefit Restrictions

481.124 Possession or Transport of
anhydrous ammonia or chemical precursors
w/ intent to manufacture controlled
substance

(d)(1) Penalty 1/1A: degree felony
(d)(2) Penalty 2: degree felony

(d)(3) Penalty 3/4: state jail felony
(d)(4) Scheduled substance not listed in
Penalty group: Class A misdemeanor

481.1245 Possession or transport of
anhydrous ammonia in improper container

(b) degree felony

481.136 Unlawful sale or receipt of chemical
precursor w/o permit or in violation of
requirements

(b) state jail felony; offense: degree felony

481.137 Transfer of precursor for unlawful
manufacture

(b) degree felony; offense: degree

481.138 Unlawful transfer or receipt of
chemical laboratory apparatus w/o permit
or in violation of requirements

(b) state jail felony; offense: degree

481.139 Transfer of chemical laboratory
apparatus w/ knowledge that recipient will
use it to unlawfully manufacture a
controlled substance/analogue

(b) degree felony

481.125(a) Possession of drug paraphernalia

(d) Class C midemeanor

481.125(b) Delivery of drug paraphernalia

(e) Class A misdemeanor;

offense: additional 90days-1yr

(c) delivery to minor >3yrs younger: state jail
felony

481.126(a)(2)&(4) Financial transactions
derived from or intended to further drug
offense

(b) degree felony

481.126(a)(1)&(3): Financial transactions
derived from or intended to further drug
offense punishable by life imprisonment

(b) degree felony

Prescription

Drug Offense

481.127 Unauthorized disclosure of
prescription information

(b) state jail felony

481.128 Offenses of Commercial registrant

(1) distribution of controlled substances in

(c) state jail felony
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violation of prescription program; (2)
manufacture of unauthorized controlled
substance; (3) refusal/failure to maintain
required records; (4) possession of
unauthorized official prescription form; (5)
delivery/possession of counterfeit official
prescription form; (6) refusal of entry into
premises for inspection; (7) refusal/failure to
return official prescription form; (8)
refusal/failure to maintain required
documentation; (9) refusal/failure to maintain
required security

(d) w/o culpable mental state: <$1,000
additional penalty

(b) intentional violation of (8)&(9): <$5,000
additional penalty

481.1285(b)(1)Conversion of controlled
substance by registrant to their own use

(c) state jail felony

481.1285(b)(2) Diversion of controlled
substance to unlawful use of another

(c) degree felony

481.129(a)(1) Distribution of Schedule I or II
substance w/o required order form

481.129(a)(2) Use of an invalid registration
number in course of manufacture,
prescription or distribution of a controlled
substance

481.129(a)(3) Issue of a forged prescription

481.129(a)(4) Use of Schedule II prescription
issued to another person

481.129(a)(5) Obtaining/attempting to
obtain controlled substance by
misrepresentation, fraudulent prescription

481.129(a)(6) Furnishing false information
in required documentation

(1) Schedule I or II: degree felony
(2) Schedule IlI or IV: degree felony
(3) Schedule V: Class A misdemeanor

481.129(a-1) Obtaining/attempting to obtain
from a practitioner a controlled substance
not medically necessary

(1) Schedule I or II: degree felony
(2) Schedule IlI or IV: degree felony
(3) Schedule V: Class A misdemeanor

481.129(b) making, distributing or
possessing a thing designed to reproduced a
counterfeit substance

Class A misdemeanor

481.129(c)(1) delivery of a prescription or
prescription form for invalid purpose;

(1) delivery of prescription form or
prescription for Schedule II substance:
degree felony

(2) Schedule II1, IV, or V: degree felony

481.129(c)(2) Possession of an invalid
prescription or prescription form

(1) delivery of prescription form or
prescription for Schedule II or III substance:
state jail felony

(2) Schedule IV or V prescription: Class B
misdemeanor
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