Tennessee Drug Statutes Chart
Tennessee Code: Title 39 Criminal Code

SCHEDULE I

OFFENSES/PENALTIES
(*All sentences are for
standard offenders.
Enhancement/mitigating
factors may
increase/reduce sentence.
See sentencing statutes in
appendix)

ENHANCEMENTS/
BENEFIT RESTRICTIONS

39-17-405 Criteria

(1) High potential for abuse; (2)
No accepted med. Use in US or
lacks accepted safety for med use

39-17-417(b)
Manufacture, delivery,
sale, possession w/
intent (p.w.i.) of
Schedule I

Class B felony: 8-12yrs;
<$100,000

39-17-406 Substances

(b) Opiates

(c) Opium derivatives: E.g.,
heroin, codeine compounds,
morphine compounds, etc.

(d) Hallucinogenic substances:
E.g., MDMA, mescaline, DMT,
peyote, LSD, psilocybin, synthetic
THC, etc.

(e) Depressants: e.g., GHB,
Qualuudes

(f) Stimulants: E.g., fenethylline,
BZP

3-17-417(i) Manufacture,
delivery, p.w.i. of heroin
(>15g); morphine
(>15g); hydromorphone
(>5g); LSD (>5g);
cocaine (>26g);
pentazocine &
tripelennamine (>5g);
PCP (>30g);
barbiturates (>100g);
phenmetrazine (>50g);
amphetamine/
methamphetamine
(>26g); peyote
(>1000g); Other
Schedule I or II
substances (>200g)
Class B felony: 8-12yrs;
<$200,000

SCHEDULE II




Tennessee Drug Statutes Chart
Tennessee Code: Title 39 Criminal Code

39-17-407 Criteria

(1) high potential for abuse; (2)
accepted med use in US w/ severe
restrictions; and (3) abuse may
lead to severe psych or phys
dependence

3-17-417(j) Manufacture,
delivery, p.w.i. of heroin
(>150g); morphine
(>150g);
hydromorphone (>50g);
LSD (>50g); cocaine
(>300g); pentazocine &
tripelennamine (>50g);
PCP (>300g);
barbiturates (>1000g);
phenmetrazine (>500g);
amphetamine/
methamphetamine
(>300g); peyote
(>10000g); Other
Schedule I or II
substances (>2000g)
Class A felony; 15-25yrs;
<$500,000

39-17-408 Substances

(b) Narcotics derived from
vegetable origin or chemical
synthesis:

(1) Opium and opiates: e.g., raw
opium, codeine, morphine and
derived painkillers

(2) chemical equivalents to those
listed in (1)

(3) Opium poppies and poppy
straws

(4) Cocaine

(5) Poppy straw concentrate

(c) Other opiates: e.g.,
methadone, dihydrocodeine

(d) Stimulants: e.g., Ritalin,
Vyvanse, amphetamine,
methamphetamine

(e) depressants: e.g., PCP,
amobarbital, glutethimide

(f) Nabilone

(g) Precursors to amphetamine,
methamphetamine, PCP, fentanyl

39-17-417(c)(1)
Manufacture, delivery,
p.-w.i. of cocaine or
methamphetamine

> .5g:
Class B felony: 8-12yrs;
<$100,000

<.5g: Class C felony;
3-6yrs; <$100,000

w/ deadly weapon: Class B felony;
8-12yrs

SCHEDULE III
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39-17-409 Criteria

(1) abuse potential less than
Schedule I and II; (2) accepted
med use in US; and (3) abuse may
lead to moderate/low phys
dependence or high psych
dependence

39-17-417(d)
Manufacture, delivery,
p.-w.i. of Schedule III
Class D felony; 2-4yrs;
<$50,000

Anabolic steroids: eligible for
pretrial diversion

39-17-410 Substances

(b) Stimulants: e.g., appetite
suppressants

(c) Depressants: e.g.,
barbiturates, sedatives,
anesthetics, Ketamine, GHA
(d) Nalorphine

(e) Limited narcotic drugs:
Compounds w/ limited
percentages of codeine,
hydrocodone, dihydrocodone,
opium, morphine

(f) Anabolic Steroids and
hormones (except those
exempted)

(g) Hallucinogenic substances:
Dronabinol

SCHEDULE IV

39-17-411 Criteria

(1) low abuse potential relative to
Schedule III; (2) accepted med use
in US; and (3) abuse may lead to
limited phys dependence or psych
dependence relative to Schedule
I11

39-17-417(e)
Manufacture, delivery,
p-w.i. of flunitrazepam
Class C felony; 3-6yrs;
<$100,000

Other Schedule IV:
Class D felony; 2-4yrs;
<$50,000

39-17-412 Substances

(b) Compounds containing
limited narcotic quantities: e.g.,
difenoxin, dextropropoxyphene
(c) Depressants: e.g., Klonopin,
Ativan, flunitrazepam

(d) Fenfluramine

(e) Stimulants: e.g., appetite
suppressants

(f) Pentazocine & butorphanol

SCHEDULE V
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39-17-413 Criteria

(1) low abuse potential relative to
Schedule 1V; (2) accepted med use
is US; and (3) abuse may lead to
limited phys dependence or psych
dependence relative to Schedule
IV

39-17-417(f)
Manufacture, delivery,
p-w.i. of Schedule V
Class E felony; 1-2yrs;
<$5,000

39-17-414 Substances

(b) Narcotics containing
nonnarcotic active medicinal
ingredients: e.g., limited
percentages of codeine, opium,
etc.

(c) Pyrovalerone

(d) Lacosamide & Pregabaline

39-17-415 SCHEDULE VI

Substances: Marijuana, THC,
and synthetic equivalents

39-17-417(g)
Manufacture, delivery,
p-w.i. of Schedule VI

39-17-418(b) Distribution of <12
oz of marijuana

Class A misdemeanor: <1lyr
and/or <$2,500

(1) % oz - 101bs of
marijuana/<2lbs of
hashish: Class E felony; 1-
2yrs; <$5,000

(2) 10-701bs of
marijuana/2-41bs of
hashish/10-19plants:
Class D felony; 2-4yrs;
<$50,000

(3) 4-8lbs of hashish/20-
99plants: Class C felony;
3-6yrs; <$100,000

4-17-417(i)(13)
70-3001bs of marijuana/8-
151bs of hashish/100-
499plants: Class B felony;
8-12yrs; <$200,000

4-17-417(j)(13)

>300lbs of
marijuana/>15lbs of
hashish/>500plants: Class
A felony; 15-25yrs;
<$500,000

39-17-416 SCHEDULE VII

Substances: Butyl nitrite

39-17-417(h)
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<$1,000

Manufacture, delivery,
p-w.i. of Schedule VII
Class E felony; 1-2yrs;

OTHER OFFENSES/PENALTIES

ENHANCEMENTS/
BENEFIT RESTRICTIONS

39-17-418 Simple possession or casual
exchange: Class A misdemeanor; <1lyr and/or
<$2,500

Drug offender school, rehab, community service
may be required

or subsequent offense: Class E felony; 1-2yrs;
<$50,000

39-17-421 substitution of drugs in filling
prescriptions: Class C misdemeanor; <30days
and/or <$50.00

39-17-422 inhaling, selling, giving or
possessing glue, paint, gas, etc. for unlawful
purposes: Class A misdemeanor; <lyr and/or
<$2,500

Sale w/ knowledge of unlawful use: Class E
felony; 1-2yrs; <$50,000

39-17-423 Sale, delivery, distribution of
counterfeit controlled substance: Class E
felony; 1-2yrs; <$50,000

Recipient: Class A misdemeanor; <1yr and/or
<$2,500

39-17-425 Unlawful drug paraphernalia
use/advertisement: Class A misdemeanor;
<lyr and/or <$2,500

Sale w/ knowledge of unlawful use: Class E
felony; 1-2yrs; <$50,000

39-17-430 Prescription of steroids for
performance enhancement w/o medical
necessity: Class D felony; 2-4yrs; <$50,000

39-17-431 Violation of methamphetamine
precursor regulations: Class A misdemeanor;
<lyr and/or <$2,500

39-17-435 Initiation of a process intended to
result in methamphetamine manufacture:
Class B felony; 8-12yrs; <$200,000

39-17-437 Possession of substance designed
to falsify drug test: Class A misdemeanor; <1yr
and/or <$2,500

Sale of synthetic urine: Class C misdemeanor;
<30days and/or <$50.00

39-17-438 Manufacture, distribution or
possession of salvia divinorum: Class D felony;
2-4yrs; <$50,000

or subsequent violation: Class C felony; 3-6yrs;
<$100,000

39-17-452 Manufacture, distribution, or
possession of methcathinone: Class A
misdemeanor; <1lyr and/or <$2,500

39-17-452 Manufacture, distribution or p.w.i.
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of imitation controlled substances: Class E
felony; 1-2yrs; $2,000-$5,000

Use of imitation controlled substances: Class
A misdemeanor; <1yr; $250-$2,5000

39-17-454(c) Manufacture, delivery, sale of a
controlled substance analogue: Class D felony;
2-4yrs; <$50,000

39-17-454(d) Possession or casual exchange
of <1g of a controlled substance analogue:
Class A misdemeanor; <lyr and/or <$2,500

or subsequent violation: Class C felony; 3-6yrs;
<$100,000
If delivery to minor: 1 degree higher

39-17-454(f) representation that a controlled
substance analogue is a controlled
substance: Class A misdemeanor ; <lyr and/or
<$2,500

ENHANCEMENT OFFENSES

ENHANCED PENALTIES

39-17-417(k) Manufacture, delivery, or p.w.i.
to a minor

One penalty classification higher

39-17-432 Violations w/in 1,000 ft of a
school, library, rec center or park

One penalty classification higher and higher fine
No s.s. or p. p.




