Title 22
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW ENFORCEMENT

Part XIII. Crime Victims Reparations Board

Chapter 1. Authority and Definitions
§101.

A. Rules and regulations are hereby established by the
Crime Victims Reparations Board by order of the Crime
Victims Reparations Act, R.S. 46:1801 et seq., Act 250 of
the 1982 Louisiana Legislature.

Authority

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:1801 et seq,
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of
Criminal Justice, Crime Victims Reparations Board, LR 20:537
(May 1994).

§103.
A. The following terms as used in these regulations,

unless the context otherwise requires or unless redefined by
a particular part hereof, shall have the following meanings.

Definitions

Aecessory—an accessory after the fact and also a
principal, as defined by the Louisiana Criminal Code.

Board—Crime Victims Reparations Board.

Child—unmarried person under 18 years of age;
includes a natural child, adopted child, stepchild, illegitimate
child, any of the above who is a student not over 23 years of
age, and a child conceived prior to but born after the
personal injury or death of the victim.

Claimant—victim or a dependent of a deceased victim,
or the legal representative of either, an intervenor, or in the
event of death, a person who legally assumes the obligation
or who voluntarily pays the medical or the funeral or burial
expenses incurred as a direct result of the crime.

Collateral Source or Resource—source of benefits for
pecuniary loss awardable, other than under these rules,
which the claimant has received or which is readily available
to him/her from any or all of the following:

a. the offender under an order of restitution to the
claimant imposed by a court as a condition of probation or
otherwise;

b. the United States or a federal agency, a state or
any of its political subdivisions, or an instrumentality of two
or more stales;

c. Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid,;
d. Workers' Compensation;
e. wage continuation programs of an employer;

f. proceeds of a contract of insurance payable to the
claimant for pecuniary loss sustained by the claimant by
reason of the crime.
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g. a contract providing prepaid hospital and other
health care services, or benefits for disability.

Dependent—spouse or any person who is a dependent
of a victim within the meaning of Section 152 of the United
States Internal Revenue Code.

Intervenor—a person who goes to the aid of another and
is killed or injured in the good faith effort to prevent a crime
covered by this Chapter 1, to apprehend a person reasonably
suspected of having engaged in such a crime, or to aid a
peace officer. Peace officer shall include commissioned
police officers, sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, marshals, deputy
marshals, correctional officers, constables, wildlife
enforcement agents, and probation and parole officers.

Pecuniary Loss—amount of expense reasonably and
necessarily incurred by reason of personal injury as a
consequence of death, or a catastrophic property loss, and
includes:

a. for personal injury:

i.  medical, hospital, nursing, or psychiatric care
or counseling, and physical therapy;

ii.  actual loss of past earnings and anticipated loss
of future earnings because of a disability resulting from the
personal injury; or the receipt of medically indicated
services for a minor child related to the personal injury;

iii.  care of a child or dependent;

iv.  counseling or therapy for the parent(s) or
sibling(s) of a child who is the victim of a sexual crime:

v.  Loss of support for a child victim of a sexual
crime not otherwise compensated for as a pecuniary loss for
personal injury;

b. as a consequence of death:

i.  funeral, burial, or cremation expenses;

il.  loss of support to one or more dependents not
otherwise compensated for as a pecuniary loss for personal
injury;

iii. care of a child or children enabling the
surviving spouse of a victim or the legal custodian or
caretaker of the deceased victim's child or children to engage
in lawful employment, where that expense is not otherwise
compensated for as a pecuniary loss for personal injury;

iv.  counseling or therapy for any surviving family
member of the victim or any person in close relationship to
such vietim;

v.  pecuniary loss does mnot include loss

attributable to pain and suffering;
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vi.  crime scene cleanup;

¢. catastrophic property loss must be so great as to
cause overwhelming financial effect on the victim or other
claimant and shall be restricted to loss of abode;

d. any other expense associated with the collection
and securing of crime scene evidence.

Reparations—payment of compensation in accordance
with the provisions of the act for pecuniary loss resulting
from physical injury, death, or catastrophic property loss by
reason of a crime enumerated in the act.

Vietim—

a. any person who suffers personal injury, death, or
catastrophic property loss as a result of a crime committed in
this state and covered by Chapter 1; or

b. a resident of Louisiana who is a victim of an act
of terrorism (as defined in Section 2331 of Title 18, United
States Code) occurring outside the U.S.; or

¢. a Louisiana resident who suffers personal injury
or death as a result of a erime described in R.S. 46:1805
except that the criminal act occurred outside of this state.
The resident shall have the same rights under this Chapter as
if the act had occurred in this state upon a showing that the
state in which the act occurred does not have an eligible
crime victims reparations program and the crime would have
been compensable had it occurred in Louisiana, In this
Subparagraph, Lowisiana resident means a person who
maintained a place of permanent abode in this state at the
time the crime was committed for which reparations are
sought.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:1801 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Crime Victims Reparations Board, LR 20:538 (May
1994), amended LR 22:709 (August 1996), LR 23:861 (July 1997),
LR 24:327 (February 1998), LR 37:1605 (June 2011).

Chapter 3. Eligibility and Application
Process
§301.

A. To be eligible for compensation, an individual must
have suffered personal injury, death or catastrophic property
loss as a result of a violent crime.

Eligibility

1. Victim Conduct and Behavior

a. The Crime Victims Reparations Board may vote
to deny or reduce an award to a claimant who is a vietim, or
who files an application on behalf of a victim, when any of
the following occurs.

i. The victim was assisting, attempting, or
engaging in an illegal activity that substantially caused the
injuries that are the basis for the elaim.

ii.  The victim committed a felony offense or was
serving a sentence for a felony offense committed within
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five years prior to the date of victimization or five years
subsequent to serving the sentence.

i, The victim contributed to or provoked the
offense through his/her own misconduet.

b. Safety Belt Use by Vehicle Occupants

i.  As Louisiana requires all vehicle occupants to
use seat belts, victims not wearing a safety belt and injured
or killed by a driver in violation of R.S. 14:98 (DWI), hit
and run, or other intentional acts will have their award
reduced, if found eligible otherwise.

ii. The total maximum award allowed under
current policy will be reduced by 50 percent.

2. Collateral Sources
a. Restitution

i.  The board reserves the right to make an award
to a victim/claimant when a court of law has ordered
restitution by the defendant;

ii.  if the board makes an award, the court will be
contacted with a request for a change in the court order to
reflect that payments are to be made to the Crime Victims
Reparations Fund for the amount paid by the board.

b. Insurance

i.  The victim/claimant must process any potential
insurance before applying for reimbursement of mental
health claims.

3. Unjust Enrichment

a. When determining unjust enrichment or
substantial economic benefit to offenders in applications
involving domestic violence, the board will consider the
following factors.

i.  Has the vietim reported the incident to the
authorities and has the vietim cooperated with their
reasonable requests?

ii. In determining whether enrichment is
substantial or inconsequential, factors to be considered
include:

(a). the amount of the award;

(b). the total amount of income to the household;
and

(c). whether a substantial portion of the award
will be used directly by or on behalf of the offender.

b. If the offender has direct access to a cash award
and/or if a substantial portion of it will be used to pay for his
living expenses, that portion of the award that will
substantially benefit the offender may be reduced or denied.

c. The availability of collateral resources, including
but not limited to court-ordered restitution and medical
insurance, will be examined. A determination shall be made:
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i. as to whether the offender has a legal
responsibility to pay;

ii.  whether the offender has resources to pay;
iii.  whether payment is likely.

d. The victim shall not be penalized for the failure
of an offender to meet legal obligations to pay for the costs
of the victim's recovery.

e. If the offender fails to meet legal responsibilities
to pay restitution or provide for the medical and support
needs of a spouse or child, or if the offender impedes
payment of insurance that may be available to cover a
spouse's or child's expenses, the program should attempt to
meet the victim's needs to the extent allowed.

f.  Payments to third-party providers will be made
wherever possible.

g. Child victims will not be penalized by denying or
delaying payment when offender or collateral resources are
not forthcoming.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S.
46:1801 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Crime Victims Reparations Board, LR 20:538 (May
1994), amended LR 22:709 (August 1996), LR 31:2009 (August
2005), LR 35:65 (January 2009), LR 36:2278 (October 2010), LR
37:1605 (June 2011).

§303.
A. Claimant Responsibility

Application Process

. Applications must be sent to the sheriff's office in
the parish where the crime occurred. Those that are sent
directly to the board office will have the date received
entered on the application and then will be sent to the
appropriate sheriff's office.

2. The applications must be signed and dated by the
victim/claimant. Only original signatures, no copies, will be
accepted. If the victim is a minor, the parent or guardian is
the claimant and must sign. If the victim is deceased, the
person responsible for the bill is the claimant and must sign
the application.

3. The claimant must list each expense being claimed.

4. An itemized bill, not a billing statement, must
accompany the application for each expense claimed.

5. The bills must show the vietim/claimant as the
guarantor. The board will not aceept any bills which indicate
the board or the sheriff's office is the guarantor.

6. The victim/claimant is required to use claim forms
to seek additional compensation after the original award is
made.

B. Sheriff's Office Responsibility

1. Each sheriff will designate at least one staff
member to handle the applications of crime victims for the
board.
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2. The sheriffs staff person, called the claim
investigator, will distribute the most current applications,
receive, process, and forward them to the board office in a
timely manner.

C. Board Staff Responsibility
1. Check distribution will be as follows:

a. Provider checks will be issued directly to
providers from the board office.

b. Victim/claimant checks will be mailed directly
from the board office unless the sheriff specifies that he
wishes to have them mailed directly to the sheriffs claim
investigator for personal distribution.

D. Appeals

1. If an application is denied and the victim/claimant
desires to appeal the board's decision, the victim/claimant
must file the appeal within 60 days from the date of the
denial letter.

2. The appeal letter should furnish the board with any
new information not yet provided that the vietim/claimant
desires to have presented.

3. The appeal will be scheduled for the next available
agenda.

AUTHORITY NOTE:
46:1801 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of
Criminal Justice, Crime Victims Reparations Board, LR 20:539
(May 1994), amended LR 22:710 (August 1996).

Chapter 5. Awards

Payment of Awards

Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

§501.
A. Only verified expenses can be reimbursed.
B. Verification of Claimed Expenses

1. Each type of claim form used by the board should
identify the documents that must be submitted by the
victim/claimant to support and verify a claimed expense.

2. When applications lack documentation necessary
for a decision or award in total or in part, and adequate effort
has been made to acquire that information, the application
will be placed on an agenda and the decision and award will
be based on that information available. Should the formerly
sought information become available, a supplemental
application can be filed.

C. Awards to eligible vietims or claimants for expenses
incurred but not yet paid may be made payable directly to
the providers.

D. All checks to providers when paid at less than the full
balance owing are marked "paid in full."

E. If a provider refuses a board check, the check will be
reissued to the claimant for the same amount as approved.

F. In those instances in which:
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1. an application has been approved for an award; and
2. payment is being made directly to the provider; and

3. the check either has not been sent or has not been
negotiated by the provider; and

4. the claimant notifies the board that he has paid the
bill, upon verification and return of the check, the check will
be voided and reissued for the same amount to the claimant.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:1801 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of
Criminal Justice, Crime Victims Reparations Board, LR 20:539
(May 1994), repromulgated LR 22:710 (August 1996), amended
LR 24:328 (February 1998).

§503. Limits on Awards
A. General

1. There will be a $10,000 limit for awards for all
victims with the exception of those primary victims who
become totally and permanently disabled as a result of the
crime. For those awards, the board may, at its discretion,
award up to 525,000, depending on availability of funds its
administrative rule limits for certain award benefits, and the
extent, if any, of collateral resources. For purposes of this
Section:

a.  a victim is "totally and permanently disabled" if
the victim has a physical or mental impairment that
substantially precludes them from obtaining gainful
employment and appears reasonably certain to continue
without substantial improvement throughout their life;

b. the board reserves the right to obtain an impartial
medical expert, at its expense, if necessary, to assess the
degree of disability of the victim,

2. All applications filed as the result of the death of a
victim will be assigned one claim number with the deceased
listed as the primary victim. Each additional claimant and/or
secondary vietim must submit a separate application with the
appropriate claim form(s) and supporting documents. The
aggregate claims arising out of the same crime will be
subject to the maximum amount authorized by law.

B. Attorney Fees

1. The board does not reimburse victims for fees
charged by an attorney to prepare an application or represent
the victim in any way unless the fees result from a hearing
ordered by the board.

2. Those reimbursable charges are set at a maximum
of $50 per hour for a total of five hours or $250.

3. The appeals process does not constitute a hearing.
Thus, any fees charged by an attorney to represent a
victini/claimant at an appeal are not compensable,

C. Funeral Expenses

1. The board will reimburse up to a maximum of
$5,000 to cover reasonable expenses actually incurred for
the funeral, burial, or cremation. (effective January 1, 2009).
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2. Death and/or burial insurance taken out specifically
for the purpose of burial must pay first. The amount of life
insurance proceeds paid is no longer considered as a
collateral source for funeral expenses.

D. Lost Wages/Earnings

1. When lost wages are part of a claim, lost wages will
be considered before out-of-pocket or other medical
expenses are considered.

2, The inability to work must be directly related to the
victimization and documented by the appropriate medical
doctor. That medical opinion is subject to professional
review and audit.

3. Violently assaulted victims who do not require
medical intervention (i.e., doctor visit, emergency room
treatment) will be allowed a reimbursable recuperation
period:

a. if no sick time or other compensation is
available, the board may grant up to five working days of
lost wages;

b. wage verification by the employer is required.

4. The board may reimburse lost wages/earnings as
follows:

a. 80 percent of the gross weekly wage of the
victim. For seasonal or part time wages, the amount shall be
calculated at 80 percent of the average weekly wage;

b. for loss of income from work by the parent or
legal guardian of a minor vietim who must miss work to
obtain or provide the medically indicated services or care for
the personal injury.

5. If workers' compensation or other private
disability/income protection insurance is available, those
policies must be paid out first before the board considers a
claim for lost wages.

6. If the victim cannot return to work, the lost wage
period may include future lost wages.

7. If a person is not gainfully employed or is not
receiving entitlement at the time of the crime, then no lost
wages can be determined nor awarded. However, an award
for loss of wages based on seasonal, nonsalaried or
intermittent work, or a bona fide offer of employment may
be based on an average net anticipated salary for the period
of employment.

8. Only the following list of physicians can legally
determine physical disability:

a. medical doctor;
b. oral surgeon;
psychiatrist;

C
d. physiatrist;

o

ophthalmologist;

f.  surgeon.
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9. Ifavictim is initially treated by one doctor and that
doctor refers the victim to another doctor, the referral doctor
can determine disability from the date of the incident.

E. Loss of Support

1. For loss of support for a surviving spouse or other
dependent to be considered, the following documentation
must be provided:

a. death certificate signed by the coroner;

b. individual federal and state tax return for year
before the erime to show dependency of claimant;

c. employment/wage verification completed and
signed by the victim's employer;

d. wverification of life
dependent filing application; and

insurance

claimed by

e. documentation that Social Security or other
pension benefits are not available to surviving spouse or
dependents.

2. Loss of support for a surviving spouse may be
awarded at the discretion of the board when no other
collateral resources exist and the inability to work exists or
the opportunity to find work could be delayed due to age,
frailty, and lack of previous work experience.

3. The board will reimburse loss of support with a
maximum of $10,000.

a. The board may award loss of support up to the
maximum amount per week authorized for lost wages in
§503.D.4. That amount is based on net, after-tax, or take
home pay.

b. When only gross income is provided by a
claimant, then the board will award the loss of support at 80
percent of the amount authorized in §503.D.4 for lost wages.

F.  Ambulance

I. A maximum of $300 for regular ambulance
transport. A maximum of $500 exists for air medical
transport.

2. Air transport services are considered ambulance
services and reimbursed as such.

3. The medical portion of the ambulance bill is to be
considered as a medical cost and paid at the medical per cent
consistent with all other claims for that claimant.

4. If the ambulance bill is part of the total hospital bill
and the total hospital bill is under $10,000, the ambulance
transfer bills will be isolated and paid separately. If the total
bill is over $10,000, the ambulance charges will not be
isolated for payment.

G. Medical Expenses

I. The board reserves the right to audit any and all
billings associated with medical care. All treatment must be
considered "usual and customary” and be directly related to
the vietimization.

2. The board will not pay any interest, finance, or
collection fees as part of the claim process.
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3. The board will pay 70 percent of all outstanding
charges after any third-party payment sources up to the
statutory limits.

4. If the total outstanding charges exceed the case cap
of $10,000, then all providers listed in the claim will be paid
out at that actual percentage those bills are in relation to the
available case funds.

5. Qut-of-pocket paid monies will be reimbursed to
the victim prior to applying this payment schedule.

6. Psychiatric Inpatient Hospitalization. It is the
opinion of the board that any psychiatric inpatient
hospitalization required by a crime victim would be very
acute and crisis management in scope. Compensation for
such care will require a peer review as deseribed in §503.1.3.

4. The board will not reimburse for more than seven
days of psychiatric inpatient hospitalization at a cost of no
more than $700 per day. This is intended for an acute
hospitalization with the goals of emotional stabilization and
placement in outpatient treatment.

b. The board will not reimburse more than one
psychological evaluation (as defined in §503.1.5).

i.  The board will not reimburse for any intake
evaluation or psychological testing.

ii.  The board will not reimburse for any more than
one in-patient treatment, group or individual, per day.
Support or family day sessions and "community" meetings
are not reimbursable.

iii.  All provider/therapist/s charges are reimbursed
at the same hourly rate as out-patient mental health services,
that is:

(a). M.8./M.S.W. (O.P.C./B.C.S.W.): $75/hour
(b). Ph.D./M.D. (Board Certified): $&85/hour
(c). Group therapy: $30/session

¢. Therapeutic groups outside the per diem charge
of the hospital will not be reimbursed.

d.  All therapist charges that are outside the per diem
charge of the hospital will be limited to no more than one
session per day at a rate described in §503.1.8.

7. Only those medicines and drugs prescribed by a
licensed physician are compensable,

8. Reimbursable providers include licensed medical
doctors, dentists, eye doctors, chiropractors, osteopaths,
pediatrists, psychiatrists psychologists, physical therapists,
ete.

9. Compensable medical services include emergency
ambulance service, medical examinations, X-ray and
laboratory services, whirlpool baths ordered by a doctor,

10. Only services of a nurse as prescribed by a licensed
physician are compensable.

I1. Aids such as hearing aids, false teeth, eyeglasses,
contact lenses, crutches, and wheelchairs needed as a direct
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result of the crime or that were damaged or destroyed during
the crime are compensable.

H. Travel Expenses. Transportation costs other than the
initial ambulance services are reimbursable only when
required medical care is not locally available. Certification is
required by the physician of record that local medical care is
unavailable, Allowable private vehicle mileage for
out-of-town travel is reimbursed at the rate published in the
current state travel regulations.

[.  Mental Health Counseling

1. It is the board's opinion that the majority of those
directly victimized by violent crime (e.g., primary victims)
can obtain significant improvement within the first six
months of qualified counseling, The board recognizes that
short-term crisis management counseling may also be
needed for secondary victims (defined as primary family
members or cohabitors of the victim),

2. Reimbursement of mental health services is limited
to six months from the date of the first visit or after the first
26 qualificd sessions/groups (whichever comes first).

3. Cases which extend beyond the allowable time
limit will be subject to a peer review by a psychiatrist or
psychologist, licensed by the state of Louisiana, consulting
with the board. Peer review will involve an examination of
the following:

a. complete progress notes for crime-related

conditions(s) being treated;

b. any psychological evaluations/testing pertaining
to the erime-related condition;

c. description of prior conditions or treatments;

d. current treatment and treatment response to date;
and

e. updated treatment plan.
4. Limits on Charges

a. For the life of each claim, reimbursable charges
may not exceed $2,500. These limits include the cost of all
treatment services and psychological or neuropsychological
evaluations/testing as deseribed in §503.1.8.
Victims/claimants may apply for an additional $2,500 in
reimbursement when there is a documented need for long-
term mental health services.

b.  All applications for extended reimbursement will
require a formal psychological or neuropsychological
evaluation/testing that clearly documents the need for
extended mental health treatment.

c. All applications for extended reimbursement of
mental health expenses are subject to peer review by a
psychiatrist or psychologist, licensed by the state of
Louisiana, consulting with the board.

5. Limits on Evaluation/Testing

Louisiana Administrative Code April 2013

270

a. Psychological evaluation/testing may not exceed
$800 and neuropsychological evaluation/testing may not
exceed $1,500.

b. Any evaluation/testing must be conducted by a
licensed psychologist and should include the following:

i.  description of any structured interview used;
ii.  description and results of testing administered;
iii.  case formulation and DMS-1V diagnoses.

c. case formulation and DSM-IV diagnoses.

6. Treatment plans completed by the therapist of
record (or primary therapist) are required for consideration
of mental health expenses. The therapist must show that the
psychological condition being treated is a direct result of the
crime. Treatment plans must be fully documented in a
"problem" and “intervention" format. Detail must be
provided for both symptom and intervention. Single word
descriptors such as "nightmares" or "supporting counseling"
will not suffice. Insufficient treatment plans will be returned
to the therapist and the case may be deferred or denied until
revised.

7. All payments for services are subject to review and
audit by the board.

8. Rates for Reimbursement

a. Only physicians, psychiatrists, state certified or
state  licensed psychologists, licensed professional
counselors, or board-certified social works are eligible for
reimbursement,

b. The rates for reimbursement shall be:
i.  M.D./Psychiatrists $85/hour;

ii. PhD. or
$85/hour

Psy.D. Licensed Psychologists;

iii.  Licenses Professional Counselors $75/hour;
iv.  Board-Certified Social Worker $75/hour;
v.  Group Therapy Rates (90 minute) $30/session.

9. It is the board's assessment that psychiatric
inpatient hospitalization of crime victims is rarely required.
If under unusual circumstances such treatment is required,
compensation will be subject to a peer review as previously
described. Reimbursement for such treatment is limited in
amounts and procedures listed under "medical” services.

10. Any claim for injuries sustained may be denied if
preseribed or preempted as a matter of law.

1. Catastrophic Property Loss

I. A maximum of $10,000 may be awarded if a
victim's abode is owned and the abode/contents are
destroyed by criminal act.

2. This must produce a "verifiable" overwhelming
financial effect for that person.
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3. This is considered when no insurance exists or the
ability to rehabitate the strueture is precluded due to lack of
personal resources.

K. Vehicular Incidents

I. Eligible expenses include those resulting from
death or personal injury as outlined in the statute if they are
ineurred resulting from DWI or hit and run offenses, fleeing
felon incidents, or injuries intentionally inflicted with a
motor vehicle, boat or aireraft.

2. Vehicular accident related injuries, other than those
caused by the above are not compensable.

L. Child Care Expenses

1. Pre-existing child care costs are not reimbursable if
those same costs were being incurred prior to the crime.

M. Crime Scene Evidence

1. Expenses associated with the collection and

securing of crime scene evidence are limited to:
a. reasonable replacement costs for clothing;
b. bedding; or

c. property seized as evidence or rendered unusahle
as a result of a criminal investigation or lab test.

2. A forensic medical examination for a victim of
sexual assault is considered an expense associated with the
collection and securing of crime scene evidence. Payment
for this examination by the parish governing authority is
mandated by state law. All other expenses related to these
crimes are eligible for reimbursement by the board at
100 percent, subject to the provisions of the Crime Victims
Reparations Act and its administrative rules.

N. Crime Scene Cleanup

1. Crime scene cleanup means the removal or
attempted removal of blood, stains, odors, broken glass,
impurities or other debris caused by the crime or the
processing of the crime seene where the crime occurred.

2. Expenses for crime scene cleanup may not exceed
total costs of $2500.
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3. Types of allowable expenses for clean up include:
a. equipment rental;
b. disinfecting and cleaning supplies;

c. professional cleaning services insured for that
purpose.

4  Expenses for crime scene cleanup cannot be used
for:

a. property repair;

b. replacement of personal property;

c. costs not directly billed to victim and/or claimant.
O. Loss of Support for Child Victim in Sexual Crimes

1. Loss of support may be paid on behalf of a child
victim of a sexual offense if the offender was providing
support through employment or a benefits program before
the date the crime was committed.

2. Claimant qualifications:

a. must be a parent, or legal guardian of the minor
child(ren);

b. must provide documented proof that offender
supported the home and minor child victim;

c. is only eligible if the offender is incarcerated.
3. The board may award loss of support up to:
a. $7500 maximum per victim;

b. maximum amount per week for loss of support is
the same authorized for lost wages in §503.D.4.

AUTHORITY NOTE:
46:1801 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Crime Victims Reparations Board, LR 20:539 (May
1994), amended LR 22:710 (August 1996), LR 24:328 (February
1998), LR 25:26 (January 1999), LR 26:1019 (May 2000), LR
29:577 (April 2003), LR 31:1330 (June 2005), LR 32:242
(February 2006), LR 35:65 (January 2009), LR:37:1605 (June
2011), LR 39:1042 (April 2013).

Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
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